University of Nottingham Malaysia

ALA Previous Winners

Congratulations to all of our Alumni Laureate Awards winners. We wish you continuous contributions to the society and a lifetime success.

Award year 2018

Christopher Leong

Christopher Leong

Award title: Lifetime Achievement

 A prominent lawyer in the field of dispute resolution, Christopher has 29 years of experience in corporate and commercial litigation, shareholders’ disputes, and banking and securities litigation. 

In addition, he acts as counsel in domestic and international arbitrations, both locally and overseas. Since 2004, Christopher has been named a Leading Individual/Lawyer in Malaysia by The Legal 500 Asia Pacific, a portal that provides insight into the legal marketplace. Most recently, he was named the Dispute Resolution Star in Benchmark Asia-Pacific 2018 and 2019. 

Hii Ching Lik

 Dr Ching Lik Hii

 Award title: Alumnus of the Year

In 2015, Ching Lik was first invited to involve in volunteering activities organised by UNM BlueSky. Together with a team of volunteers, he then later helped officially co-found UNM BlueSky-Mobile Tutoring Programme for Refugee Children funded by the Cascade grants.

The aim of the programme is to support education centres run by non-governmental organisations (implementing partners of UNHCR Malaysia) by providing weekend tuition classes to the refugee children. Currently, the programme is attached to education centres in the Klang Valley (Selayang and Ampang) and volunteers include students and staff of UNM. To date, the programme has helped support more than 200 refugee children from various nationalities.  

TC Gwi

Terk Chern, Gwi 

Award title: Alumnus of the Year 

TC was a senior business analyst at broadcasting giant Astro with expertise in business strategy, operations and finance. There, he strategically led a few projects, which gained a combined revenue that of more than RM1 billion in cost saving and revenue optimisation.

He then left his corporate job to start his own online food subscription platform called Didi Eat (previously named as Dinez-in), in January 2017; and today, he is the Group CEO of Savour Tech Holding which is established in early 2018 and they have incorporated a few other businesses such as branding& marketing, data analysis, event, education & tea leaf companies. He has also been prominently featured in The Asian Entrepreneur magazine, The Edge, The Sun Daily, Oriental Daily, Lite FM, and more.  


Award year 2017

Siti Maslinda

Siti Maslinda Sheikh Othman

Award title: Alumnus of the year 

Siti Maslinda who graduated in the 2004 and introduced Air Asia’s Corporate Social Responsibility Programme; the ‘Donate Loose Change’ when she worked as the Special Assistant to the Group CEO and a Government Relations Specialist. She was also instrumental in KENANGA KARES, a CSR programme in education, community and environment and was part of the transformation team. In November 2012, Siti Maslinda established an accredited early development center Jelly Babies Early Childhood Center which adopted the concept of ‘Learning Through Play’. Currently she is Heading the Corporate Communications Department at Parkway Pantai, Malaysia Operations Division.

Award year 2016


Shahen Avinesh Amaratunga, MAS Holdings

Award title : Alumnus of the Year

Shahen Avinesh Amaratunga was awarded “Alumnus of the Year 2016” for designing and developing an environmental sustainability standard for Sri Lanka’s MAS Holdings. Read full profile.

Award year 2015

Yang Amat Mulia Tunku Tan Sri Imran ibni al-Marhum Tuanku Ja’afar al-Haj (DKYR, PSM, SPNS, AMN, PJK) Tunku Muda, of Serting


Award title : Lifetime Achievement Award

Tunku Imran has received the award in recognition of his enduring and significant commitment to sport on a global stage, including in his current roles as President of the Commonwealth Games Federation and President of the Olympic Council of Malaysia. Read full profile.

Yang Arif, Datuk Dr. Prasad Sandosham Abraham, Court of Appeal Judge

Dr Prasad


Award title : Lifetime Achievement Award

Datuk Dr Prasad has been recognised for his contributions to the legal profession, including in his current role as a Court of Appeal judge, and achievements throughout his career.  Read full profile.


Ruth Yeoh of YTL Corporation


Award title : Special Excellence Award

Ruth is the Executive Director at YTL Singapore and heads the environmental division, where she reports on the organisation’s environmental activities. She is also a director at YTL SV Carbon, the company’s in-house carbon credit and clean development mechanism consultancy. Read full profile.

Cheng Pheng Saw


Award title : Alumnus of the Year

The 2015 Alumnus of the Year Award was presented to Cheng Pheng Saw for his contribution to sports in co-founding the PCFreestyle and D Skills Academy, which provides freestyle football workshops and coaching classes, as well as providing opportunities for talented individuals to perform in stage shows, video commercials and at events. Read full profile.


Award year 2014


Nagulendran Kangayatkarasu, former Deputy Under Secretary, Head Biodiversity Section, Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment, Malaysia

Award title : Special Excellence Award

Nagulendran has been representing the Government of Malaysia in numerous international conventions and treaties on the environment, negotiating Malaysia’s stand on issues related to biodiversity, access to Benefit Sharing and biosafety. Read full profile.



Teoh Wee Kiat and Chin Ren Yi, the co-founders of myBurgerLab

 Award title : Alumnus of the Year

In an unprecedented move, this year, 2 alumni of the University were conferred the Alumnus of the Year 2014 Award for their innovative entrepreneurial efforts, Teoh Wee Kiat and Chin Ren Yi, the co-founders of myBurgerLab and business and engineering graduates of UNM received the award from Professor Sir David Greenaway. myBurgerLab is a fast food outlet that has its customers’ queueing up daily, serving 600 customers within 5 hours of its operations daily. Read full profile.


Award year 2013

Yang Mulia Tengku Tan Sri Ahmad Rithauddeen, The University of Nottingham in Malaysia Sdn. Bhd Board Member


Award title : Lifetime Achievement Award

Tengku Tan Sri Ahmad Rithauddeen has been the Chairman of The University of Nottingham in Malaysia Berhad since 1999 and has, from the very beginning, played a key role in the University’s move to establish the first campus of any British university in Malaysia. He led the ground breaking ceremony of the the University of Nottingham Malaysia (UNM) on 29 January 2002. Read full profile.



 From the left: Molly Fong, Professor Christine Ennew, Professor David Greenaway and Professor Ting Kang Nee

Professor Ting Kang Nee, Head, School of Biomedical Sciences, Faculty of Science, University of Nottingham Malaysia

Award title : Special Excellence Award

Professor Ting Kang Nee, alumnus of the university was awarded Laureate Award for Special Excellence owing to her tireless contribution as a volunteer, initiator and leadership of UNM’s campus cancer awareness campaign. Read full profile.

Molly Fong, franchise holder of The Body Shop in West Malaysia and Vietnam

Award title : Alumnus of the Year

Molly Fong was presented with Laureate Award for Alumnus of the Year 2013. An MBA graduate of the University of Nottingham Malaysia (UNM) in 2012, Fong was conferred the award for her exceptional business acumen and the championing of her company’s campaigning stance in Malaysia. Read full profile.



Alumni and Donor Relations Office

University of Nottingham Malaysia
Jalan Broga, 43500 Semenyih
Selangor Darul Ehsan

telephone: +6 (03) 8924 8373
fax: +6 (03) 8924 8657